EFCC denies plot to arrest three APC governors

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, on Sunday, March 31, 2019, dismissed report that the commission is planning to arrest three governors of the All Progressives Congress, APC, who have been having running battle with the APC National chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, after the expiration of their tenures in May 2019. The governors were identified to include Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State, Governor Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State, and Governor, Abdulazeez Yari of Zamfara State.
The report speculated that ahead of May 29, 2019, handover date to newly elected governors of these states, the Commission has set up teams to probe some governors accused of perpetuating acts of corruption.
EFCC in a statement by Tony Orilade, Acting Head of Media and Publicity, on Sunday remarked that the reporter failed to give details of the composition and terms of reference of the purported teams set up by the commission. The Commission stated that it does not go after anybody, including ex-governors on speculative grounds.
The Commission, therefore, appealed to the media to be circumspect and verify their stories before going to press.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *